Home Sweet Home! Housewarming Gift Basket

home2

Home Sweet Home!

Ahhh….the feeling of owning your own home or moving out on your own for the first time. There’s nothing like it!

Bittersweet, joyful, scary, exciting…all rolled into one.

What’s that I hear? You want to bring something different to the housewarming party you’ve been invited to?

Well here it is…

Okay, a little bit of history on this gift. George Bailey and his wife bring a housewarming gift to the Martini’s in the classic movie

“It’s A Wonderful Life”

They present the Martini’s with a gift: a loaf of bread, a bottle of wine and a box of salt.

Time to get creative!

Go to the dollar store or wherever it is that you like to buy baskets. Get a cute one! I chose one that was rectangular in shape.

Grab a loaf of bread. Most grocery stores sell “gourmet breads” or better yet, bake one of your own.

Now choose your poison. If they have a favorite wine, by all means get it! I was undecided on what kind to get so I chose a bottle that I thought “three twenty something” girls would like.

My husband picked up the salt and I think he did a pretty great job. He found this pink, Himalayan salt from Wegman’s.

I found the gift tags online.

Housewarming Gift Tags

Or go ahead with your bad self and make your own!

Bread…so this house may never know hunger. Salt…that life may always have flavor.

And Wine, that joy and prosperity may reign forever.

I think that says it all when you’re welcoming someone into they’re new, humble abode.

home1

Place everything in the basket and add a personal touch if you’d like. I call my sister “Diva”. So, I found a little heart that said, “Diva”. Perfect!

Now, shrink wrap that puppy! (I got the shrink wrap and bow from the dollar store)

At last, present your gift and go enjoy that party already. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

