Homemade Bailey’s Irish Cream

baileys1

One of my all time favorite drinks! Even better when it’s homemade!

My husband brought home homemade Bailey’s for Christmas last year and from that moment on I was on a quest to find the perfect combination of ingredients. With some tweaking and a whole lot of taste testing I think I’ve found, in my opinion, the perfect drink.

I used some mason jars I found at the dollar store and some fabric that I placed under the lid for decoration.

The little mason jars were special ordered online and we used them for my “Bridal Shower Favors”. It was St. Patrick’s Day themed, so it was very fitting. We tied on a little burlap bag of coffee to each one entitled “The Perfect Blend”; placed it in a cellophane bag with some Biscotti and it made an awesome shower gift. Slainte’!

bailey2

Okay, now for the wonderful recipe.

1- 2/3 cup Irish whiskey

1 quart of light cream

1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk

2 tablespoons Hershey’s syrup or any kind of chocolate syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tsp. of your favorite instant coffee

Blend it in a blender on high for no more then 30 seconds.

_________________________________________________________________________

That’s it! You’ve just made homemade Bailey’s. You may never want to buy the bottled stuff again. I know I don’t.

I also like to splash a little Chambord in there and make it a little raspberry tasting.

Or, some Hazel Nut liqueur and make it “A Nutty Irishman”.

Tip: Chill the whiskey to get it at the same temp as the light cream. This will prevent the cream from curdling or separating.

May those that love us, love us and those that don’t love us may God turn their hearts.

And if he doesn’t turn their hearts may he turn their ankles so we’ll know them by their limping.

Leave a Reply

