Buttermilk Cheddar Mashed Potatoes

Buttermilk Cheddar Mashed Potatoes

mashed

 These were so easy and tasted so great! 

I was looking for something to compliment the meatloaf I made tonight and I thought, “Of course. mashed potatoes. What else goes better with a loaf of meat?” Pretty much nothing. That’s what.

My next dilemma: Do I have anything to even make mashed potatoes with? Mainly, do I have the star ingredient of this dish? So, I remembered I bought a bag of red potatoes and then opened the fridge and I stared.

You know, that long stare of “what’s in the fridge that I can throw into these mashed potatoes” stare. Well, I’ll tell you what I found. I found some buttermilk, some shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese and butter. Voila! Ummmm…yummm.

I couldn’t find my potato masher. I mean, how do you lose one of those? Any hoo, a fork just wasn’t doing it, so I broke out the hand mixer. Yeah, I did it and they came out excellent.

RECIPE

8 red potatoes – skins on

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (or any cheese of choice)

4 tbs. butter

3/4 C. buttermilk

Boil red potatoes for 20 min. or until fork tender. (I quartered them so they cooked faster)

When potatoes are done, drain water and while still hot, add the shredded cheese, butter, and buttermilk. Mash potatoes with a masher, if you can find it, or break out your hand mixer.

Season with salt an pepper and enjoy the “Mmmmmm, these are good” comments from the people eating them.

 

Leave a Reply

