Cape Cod Crunch

cape1

I was recently invited to an “Oyster Roast” at a friend’s house. I’ve never been to an oyster roast and I’ve never had an oyster, cooked or otherwise. Let me tell you…they are good. I tried them 3 ways: raw, cooked & smoked. My favorite were the smoked ones and surprisingly once I got the courage to eat a raw one, I liked that too.

So, I was thinking about what to bring as a host/hostess gift and I thought I’d make a traditional mix, but with a twist. It came out really tasty and it looked awesome. I just wished I doubled the recipe when I made it, so I’d have some left over to snack on.

We love a little bit of heat, so I really like the cayenne pepper at the end. If you don’t like things hot & spicy, omit this ingredient.

capec3

So here’s what I used:

1 Cup Rainbow Goldfish Crackers

1 Cup Thin Pretzels

1 Cup Oyster Crackers

1 Cup Roasted Unsalted Peanuts

3 Cups Chex Cereal of your choice

1/2 Cup Pecans

1 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce

1 tbsp. Old Bay

1 tbsp. Lime or Lemon Juice

1 tsp. Hot Sauce

1/4-1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper (optional)

1/2 Stick of Butter

Melt butter and mix in Worcestershire, Lemon/Lime juice, Old Bay & Hot Sauce. Place all of your other ingredients, crackers etc., in a bowl and pour the melted butter mixture over the top. Stir up ingredients.

Place your mixture on a cookie sheet and bake for about 1 hr. in a 250 degree oven. Mix ingredients around on the cookie sheet every 10-15 minutes.

After 1 hour, take cookie tray out of the oven and dust the top with cayenne pepper. Mix up ingredients again and let cool.

I put my mixture in mason jars and labeled them with tags.

capec2

Leave a comment